lauryn hill

Lauryn Hill Releases New Music on ‘Queen & Slim’ Soundtrack!!!

Lauryn Hill has new music coming, ya’ll. Even though it’s only one track, Ms. Hill’s music is highly anticipate and marks her first new solo music offering in 5 years.

Lauryn Hill Offers First Solo Song In 5 Years

Dedicated to activists in Ferguson, Missouri after the killing of Michael Brown, Lauryn Hill’s powerful last project was “Black Rage (Sketch).” 

So far, the only thing we know about this new music is that the track will be featured on the soundtrack of Melina Matsoukas and Lena Waithe’s new film, Queen & Slim. Others on the soundtrack include –

  • Vince Staples
  • Lil Baby
  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Erykah Badu
  • H.E.R
  • Offset and Cardi B
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Migos
  • Chance the Rapper
  • 2Pac
  • and many others

Her last release was the single, “Black Rage (Sketch).” Dedicated to activists in Ferguson, Missouri fighting for racial equality after the killing of Michael Brown, the powerful song was released in 2014. More recently, Lauryn Hill appeared on a Kanye West produced track for Pusha T called “Coming Home.”

As reported by Pitchfork, director Melina Matsoukas said this about the soundtrack in a press release:

I wanted the soundtrack for Queen & Slim to showcase the historical evolution of Black music, from its roots in blues and soul, to modern bounce, hip hop and R&B—much like we used to see in film soundtracks in the ’90s. We partnered with Motown because of their legacy within Black music. I am honored to have worked beside Ethiopia and cannot wait for audiences to hear what each artist has created.

Queen & Slim: The Soundtrack drops on November 15 via Motown Records.

Queen & Slim movie release date is November 27th.

For more Entertainment News check us out at It’s your brand new destination for hot black celebrity news.

Leave a Reply